Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs Political Science Undergrad Scholarships
Applications for 2021-2022 are now open

Deadline to apply: January 31, 2022

Apply here:

William F. and Martha A. Mullen Endowment Scholarship

William F. Mullen became an instructor in the WSU political science department in 1968. He served on a committee that designed the Black Studies Program and taught “Black Politics” for several years. He also taught “Politics and Pressure Groups” and coordinated Whitman County re-election campaigns for Congressman Thomas Foley, serving as the county chair of the Democratic Party and attending the 1976 Democratic Convention as a delegate. The major focus of his teaching and scholarship became the American presidency; he published Presidential Power and Politics in 1976 and was coediting a book on “Comparative Chief Executives” at the time of his death in 1986.

The William F. Mullen Undergraduate Scholarship was established by his wife, Marti, to reflect these professional and personal interests as well as his commitment to undergraduate education.

Criteria: This scholarship is open to undergraduate students certified in the political science major with a minimum GPA of 3.0. Preference is given to undergraduates with an academic emphasis on U.S. government and politics, especially with respect to the American presidency and the electoral political process, an interest in racial and ethnic minority politics, and/or a commitment to a career in public service. Financial aid is not a major criterion, but will be considered.

Judges Thomas & Marshall Neill Memorial Scholarship

Criteria: This scholarship is open to undergraduate students certified in the political science major. Students must be full-time and regularly enrolled, demonstrate financial need, and possess excellent character with the potential for growth in chosen profession. GPA is not a consideration as long as the student is making satisfactory progress towards his/her degree.

Morris Reed Scholarship

Morris Reed was a 1948 graduate of then–Washington State College, where he studied political science and history. He was a member and president of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society. Following graduation, Reed attended graduate school at New York University for a year before joining the U.S. Department of State. He returned to the Pacific Northwest in the Pierce County auditor’s office, where he eventually retired as deputy auditor.

Criteria: This scholarship is open to undergraduate students certified in the political science major. Preference will be given to officers or members of Pi Sigma Alpha.

Winston B. Thorson Memorial Scholarship

Winston B. Thorson was a professor of history at Washington State University from 1943 to 1949. This scholarship was developed by family, colleagues, and friends of Winston B. Thorson to provide scholarships for political science and history students.

Criteria: This scholarship is open to undergraduate students certified in the political science major who have demonstrated scholastic excellence and outstanding character.

Claudius O. Johnson Memorial Scholarship

Claudius O. Johnson joined the faculty of Washington State College in 1928 as the department chair of history and political science. With a career spanning four decades, Johnson was considered by many students to be the most influential role model of their college experience. He was described as “one of the most stimulating people who ever entered a classroom at WSU.” Professor Johnson authored several books that were widely adopted nationwide. Government in the United States, American National Government, and American State and Local Government have all appeared in several editions.

Mary W. Johnson joined the faculty in 1923 as a physical education instructor. In response to a nepotism rule, she resigned in 1929 when she and Claudius married. Nevertheless, she remained involved as an advisor to the physical education department and as a civic leader in the Pullman community. Mary remained in Pullman after Claudius’ death in 1976. She died in April of 1992 at age 92.

Claudius and Mary Johnson influenced WSU students in countless ways with their teaching, guidance, and scholarship. Through gifts from their estates, they created distinguished professorships and scholarships in both political science and history.

Criteria: This scholarship provides funds to undergraduate students in political science and is awarded by the School of Politics, Philosophy, & Public Affairs.

Decisions regarding the awarding of scholarships will be made by the Scholarship Committee. If you have any questions, contact the school at 509-335-2544 or