Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs Political Science Club

Who we are?

The PSCWSU is a non-partisan organization open to all Undergraduate and Graduate students of Washington State University. The purpose of the PSCWSU is to encourage political efficacy and participation amongst all students. The PSCWSU hosts guest speakers to spark invigorating cross-partisan conversation and political debate, increases informed voters through the discussion of key political topics, and works to facilitate a civilized cross-partisan environment on campus and in the Pullman community.

What we do?

PSCWSU holds regular open meetings for students of all political ideologies to share perspectives on important political issues. Previous discussions have focused on topics such as gun control and the Las Vegas mass shooting, NFL national anthem protests, separation of church and state, informed voting, the rise of white supremacist groups, Deferred Actions for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), fake news, and more!

PSCWSU organizes community engagement and membership activities such as co-sponsorship of a public lecture at the Thomas S. Foley Institute for Public Policy and Public Service featuring Dr. Carolyn Long, the Sam Reed Distinguished Professor in Civic Education and Public Civility, sending student representatives to the Pacific Northwest Political Science Association conference to present research on the rise of hate speech on the WSU-Pullman campus, gathering with warm apple cider to decorate and deliver autumn wreaths for our representatives, tabling with free Starbucks in the Compton Union Building to encourage student engagement with campus leaders and government representatives, organizing a “Trick or Tacos” Halloween event where members debated politics over dinner at Rancho Viejo, spending an evening at the movies, watching the Post; a newly released film depicting the infamous Pentagon Papers scandal, sponsoring WSU-Pullman student representatives to attend a conference on facilitating civil political discourse in a polarized society, and more!

For more information, please visit or email

Faculty Advisor:
Amy Mazur
Johnson Tower 822




Political Science Club Meeting Times Spring 2019



(From left to right; Jordan Frost, Heidi Stallman, Stella Kim, Jordan Smith, and Bailey McCoy)

The Political Science club with ASWSU President, Jordan Frost, at their tabling event showcasing their wreath project for President Schulz and Congresswoman McMorris Rodgers. Students passing by in the CUB stopped to hear about PSC, and add their voice by tying a tag with their comments and questions onto each wreath. The Club then personally delivering the wreaths to President Schulz and the Congresswoman’s offices.

Washington State University