Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs Graduate Student Association

Welcome to the Graduate Student Association for the School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs!

The GSA is the graduate student organization for the School and addresses all issues or concerns from the student body. These issues may include interaction between students and faculty, to community and professional development, and mentoring. The GSA also provides for various social events throughout the academic year.


The purpose of the GSA is to improve the quality of graduate student education and the quality of graduate student life in the School of Politics, Philosophy and Public Affairs by serving as a voice for the graduate student population and representing its interests to the School, University and community.

Membership Criteria

All students currently enrolled and pursuing graduate level degrees from the School of Politics, Philosophy and Public Affairs constitute the general membership of the PPPA-GSA. All members may be elected to, and are represented by, the PPPA-GSA Executive Committee.


GSA Officers

The Graduate Student Body is represented in the Graduate Student Association by the PPPA-GSA Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is composed of a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Master’s Student Representative, the First-Year Ph.D Student Representative, and the Graduate and Professional Student Association Senators from the School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs. Elections for most positions are held during the Spring semester; however, the First-Year Ph.D. Representative is elected during the first four weeks of the Fall Semester, along with any positions vacant over the Summer.

Students are encouraged to contact the GSA President or other representatives regarding issues or concerns. The GSA constitution and meeting minutes are available from the GSA Secretary.  Additionally, these documents may be found on the CougSync Portal for the PPPA-GSA.

GSA Officers:

GSA President
Sydney Smith

GSA Vice President
Anna Ivanova

GPSA Senator
Will Favell

GSA Secretary 
Edward Greer

GSA Treasurer 
Jeffrey Deminchuk

MA Student Representative
Caitlin Black

First Year Rep
Rebecca LaRue

Dr. Michael Goldsby