Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs Graduate Students

Fatih Aydogan

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
email: fatih.aydogan@wsu.edu

Research Interests: American Foreign Policy, American Institutions, Public Administration, Social Movements, Public Policy, Armenian Diaspora and Armenian Studies

Committee:

Heath Bingman

MA Student

Office:
email: heath.bingman@wsu.edu

Research interest: Indigenous education policy, ethnic conflict, generational poverty, indigenous achievement gaps in public schools, indigenous rights, placed & culture based education

Committee:

Joseph Bolton

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 227
email: joseph.bolton@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Constitutional Law, Judicial Politics, Public Policy, Political Inequality, Economic and Social Stratification, Political Theory, and Sociological Theory

Committee: Dr. Cornell Clayton (Chair), Dr. Travis Ridout, Dr. Michael Salamone

Furkan Cakmak

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 227
Email: furkan.cakmak@wsu.edu

Research interest: Political Psychology, American Politics, Political Communication

Committee: Dr. Travis Ridout (Chair), Dr. Thomas Preston, Dr. Martha Cottam

Pip Cawley

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnton Tower 625
Email: pipcawley@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae

Research Interests: Political Psychology, International Relations, Political Violence, Leadership Studies, Media and Politics

Committee: Dr. Thomas Preston (Chair), Dr. Travis Ridout, Dr. Anthony Lopez

Timothy Chatburn

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 621
Email: timothy.chatburn@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Research Interests: American political behavior, Political communications as well as group and individual level information processing, Influence of political behaviors on political institutions with specific interest in the courts.

Committee: Dr. Travis Ridout (Chair), Dr. Martha Cottam, Dr. Michael Salamone

Yin Ru Chen

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 625
Email: yinru.chen@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae

Research interest: 

Committee: Dr. Steven Stehr (Chair), Dr. Amy Mazur, Dr. Claudia Leeb

Steffanie Chritz

PhD Student

Email: steffanie.chritz@wsu.edu

Research interest: 

Committee: Dr. Patricia Glazebrook (Chair), Dr. Thomas Preston, Dr. Martha Cottam, Dr. Ka’imi Sinclair

Don Cooper

MA Student

Office:
Email: donald.cooper@wsu.edu

Research interest: Political Psychology, International Relations, Identity, American Institutions, and Latin America

Committee:

James Dalton

MA Student

Office:
Email: james_dalton@wsu.edu

Research interest: 

Committee:

Jeffrey D. David

PhD Candidate

Office:
Email: jeffrey.david@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Regional Emphasis on sub-Saharan Africa, Political Psychology, Identity, (Cultural) Conflict, Structural Violence, Security & Violent Extremist Organizations, International Relations, Constructivism

Committee: Dr. Martha Cottam (Chair), Dr. Thomas Preston, Dr. Otwin Marenin

 

Bronti DeRoche

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 226
Email: bronti.deroche@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Institutions & Processes, Public Policy

Committee:

Adam Emerson

Adam Emerson

PhD Candidate

Email: adam.emerson@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Political psychology, propaganda and political communication, Eastern European and Eurasian politics, and experimental method

Committee: Dr. Thomas Preston (Chair), Dr. Martha Cottam, Dr. Travis Ridout

Kate Fitzgerald

MA Student

Office:
Email: kate.fitzgerald@wsu.edu

Research Interests:

Committee:

Amanda Fleming

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 226
Email: a.fleming@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Political Theory & Global Politics

Committee:

flint-andrew

Andrew Flint

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 623
Email: andrew.flint@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Political Theory and American Politics, Critical Theory, Political Economy, Ethics in Business & Economics, Social Theory.

Committee: Dr. Claudia Leeb (Chair), Dr. Cornell Clayton, Dr. Matt Stichter

Miguel Gasca

MA Student

Email: miguel.gasca@wsu.edu

Research Interests:

Committee:

Mohammad Ghaedi

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 623
Email: mohammad.ghaedi@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae

Research Interests: Political psychology, psychology of political leadership, terrorism, peace studies

Committee: Dr. Martha Cottam (Chair), Dr. Thomas Preston, Dr. Ashly Townsen

higashi-brenden

Brenden Higashi

PhD Candidate

Office:
Email: brenden.higashi@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Constitutional Law, Judicial politics, class demographics, and judicial decision making

Committee:

Michael Highfill

PhD Student

Email: michael.highfill@wsu.edu

Research Interests:

Committee:

Michael Hourigan

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 624
Email: michael.hourigan@wsu.edu

Research interest: Judicial Politics, Judicial Elections, and State and Local Politics, Voting Behavior, and Constitutional Law

Committee: Dr. Michael Salmone (Chair), Dr. Cornell Clayton, Dr. Travis Ridout

Fidaa Jabbouri

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 226
Email: fidaa.jabbouri@wsu.edu

Research Interests: International relations, global politics, American foreign policy, Middle East politics, and political psychology

Committee:

Abbas Mammadov

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
Email: abbas.mammadov@wsu.edu

Research Interests: International Relations, Comparative Politics, Turkish Foreign Policy, and Post-Soviet Affairs

Committee:

Oscar Martinez

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 227
Email: oscar.l.martinez@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Constitutional law, judicial politics, public law, political polarization, and judicial decision-making

Committee: Dr. Michael Salamone (Chair), Dr. Cornell Clayton, Dr. Amy Mazur

Joel Mehic-Parker

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 227
Email: joel.parker@wsu.edu

Research interest: Comparative Politics, Gender and Politics, Political Behavior, Political Psychology, Media and Politics

Committee:

Joshua Munroe

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 621
Email: joshua.munroe@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae

Research Interests: American politics, political elites (Congress), political communications, elections, political institutions, public policy, policy communications, political psychology

Committee: Dr. Travis Ridout (Chair), Dr. Steven Stehr, Dr. Michael Salamone, Dr. Martha Cottam

Joel Preuninger

PhD Candidate

Email: joel_preuninger@wsu.edu

Research interest: Cyber warfare, international security and political psychology

Committee:

Chase Riddle

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 227
Email: chase.riddle@wsu.edu

Research interest: International Relations, Political Psychology, Human Rights/War Crimes, Genocides, Audio Analysis

Committee: Dr. Martha Cottam (Chair), Dr. Thomas Preston, Dr. Raymond Sun (History)

Sebastian Ruiz

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
Email: sebastian.ruiz@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Inter-communal conflict, voting & political behavior, political communications, public opinion formation, political socialization, political obedience/acquiescence, colonialism, and power relations

Committee:

pusateri-julia

Julia Smith

PhD Candidate

Email: julia.pusateri@wsu.edu

Research Interests:

Committee:

Nate Steffen

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
Email: nate.steffen@wsu.edu

Research Interests: International Relations, Political Psychology, War Crimes, International Law, Terrorism/Suicide Terrorism

Committee: 

Matthew J. Sutherland

MA Student

Email: matthew.sutherland@wsu.edu

Research Interests:

Committee:

Matthew S. Sutherland

MA Student

Email: matthew.s.sutherlan@wsu.edu

Research Interests:

Committee:

Sedef Asli Topal

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 226
Email: sedefasli.topal@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Political psychology, political behavior, democratic governance and comparative politics

Committee:

Helary Yakub

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 226
Email: helary.yakub@wsu.edu

Research interest:

Committee:

yoesle-orion

Orion Yoesle

PhD Candidate

Email: oayoesle@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae

Research Interests: Political communication, particularly media framing and political advertising Voting behavior, political behavior (especially among partisans), electoral policy, Political Polarization and sorting

Committee: Dr. Travis Ridout (Chair), Dr. Michael Salamone, Dr. Steven Stehr

Washington State University