Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs Graduate Students

Deena Bayoumi

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
email: deena.bayoumi@wsu.edu

Research Interests:

Committee:

Heath Bingman

PhD Student

Office: Chinook 101C
email: heath.bingman@wsu.edu

Research interest: Indigenous education policy, ethnic conflict, generational poverty, indigenous achievement gaps in public schools, indigenous rights, placed & culture based education

Committee:

Joseph Bolton

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 227
email: joseph.bolton@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Constitutional Law, Judicial Politics, Public Policy, Political Inequality, Economic and Social Stratification, Political Theory, and Sociological Theory

Committee:

Austin Brown

MA Student

Email: austin.j.brown@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Voter Choice and Participation, Political Psychology, and United States Foreign Relations

Committee:

Fernanda Buril Almeida

PhD Candidate

email: fernanda.almeida@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae

Research Interests: Political psychology; evolutionary approaches to dynamics of conflict and cooperation; and religious violence

Committee: Dr. Martha Cottam (Chair), Dr. Anthony Lopez, Dr. Thomas Preston

cawley-pip

Pip Cawley

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 622
Email: pipcawley@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Political Psychology, Hate Groups, Media, International Relations, Philosophy of Religion and Philosophy of Film

Committee:

Timothy Chatburn

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 227
Email: timothy.chatburn@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Research Interests: American political behavior, Political communications as well as group and individual level information processing, Influence of political behaviors on political institutions with specific interest in the courts.

Committee:

Yin Ru Chen

PhD Student

Email: yinru.chen@wsu.edu

Research interest: 

Committee: 

Jeffrey David

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 227
Email: jeffrey.david@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Regional Emphasis on sub-Saharan Africa, Political Psychology, Identity, (Cultural) Conflict, Structural Violence, Security & Violent Extremist Organizations, International Relations, Constructivism

Committee: Dr. Martha Cottam (Chair), Dr. Thomas Preston, Dr. Ashly Townsen

 

SONY DSC

Richard Elgar

PhD Candidate

Office: Bryan 316
Email: relgar@wsu.edu

Research Interests:

Committee:

Adam Emerson

Adam Emerson

PhD Candidate

Email: adam.emerson@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Political psychology, propaganda and political communication, Eastern European and Eurasian politics, and experimental method

Committee:

flint-andrew

Andrew Flint

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 226
Email: andrew.flint@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Political Theory and American Politics, Critical Theory, Political Economy, Ethics in Business & Economics, Social Theory.

Committee: Dr. Claudia Leeb (Chair), Dr. Cornell Clayton, Dr. Matt Stichter

Mohammad Ghaedi

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 226
Email: mohammad.ghaedi@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae

Research Interests: Political psychology, psychology of political leadership, terrorism, peace studies

Committee: Dr. Martha Cottam (Chair), Dr. Thomas Preston, Dr. Ashly Townsen

higashi-brenden

Brenden Higashi

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 622
Email: brenden.higashi@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Constitutional Law, Judicial politics, class demographics, and judicial decision making

Committee:

Raymond Hohnholz

MA Student

Email: raymond.hohnholz@wsu.edu

Research interest:

Michael Hourigan

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
Email: michael.hourigan@wsu.edu

Research interest: Judicial Politics, Judicial Elections, and Constitutional Law

Committee:

Oscar Martinez

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 227
Email: oscar.martinez@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Constitutional law, judicial politics, public law, political polarization, and judicial decision-making

Committee: Dr. Michael Salamone (Chair), Dr. Cornell Clayton, Dr. Amy Mazur

mikami-nathan

Nathan Mikami

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 112
Email: nathan.mikami@wsu.edu

Research Interests: International Relations; political psychology; religious nationalism; religious violence; terrorism; and political Islam

Committee:

Breckenridge Morgan

MA Student

Email: breckenridge.morgan@wsu.edu

Research Interests:  International Relations, Chinese Culture, Chinese Relations, National Security

Committee:

Danny Mueller

PhD Candidate

Office: Hulbert Hall 311C
Email: daniel.mueller@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae

Research Interests: Public policy; local environmental policy regarding climate change adaptation, sustainability, and collaborative governance; global environmental politics and climate change policy; normative environmental theory

Committee:

munroe-josh

Joshua Munroe

PhD Candidate

Email: joshua.munroe@wsu.edu

Research Interests: 

Committee:

Joel Parker

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
Email: joel.parker@wsu.edu

Research interest:

Committee:

Joel Preuninger

PhD Student

Email: joel_preuninger@wsu.edu

Research interest:

Committee:

Samuel Rhodes

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 226
Email: samuel.rhodes@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae

Research Interests: Fake News, Political Polarization, Political Communication, Political Behavior, Voting and Elections

Committee: Dr. Travis Ridout (Chair), Dr. Cornell Clayton, Dr. Michael Salamone, Dr. Porismita Borah (Murrow College of Communication)

Chase Riddle

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
Email: chase.riddle@wsu.edu

Research interest: International Relations, Human Rights/Human Rights Offenses, Ethnicity and Nationalism, War Crimes, Ethnic Conflict

Committee: Dr. Martha Cottam (Chair), Dr. Thomas Preston, Dr. Ashly Townsen

schmidt-hans

Hans Schmidt

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 227
Email: hans.schmidt@wsu.edu

Research Interests: International Relations Theory, Sovereignty, Nationalism, and International Law

Committee:

pusateri-julia

Julia Smith

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 226
Email: julia.pusateri@wsu.edu

Research Interests:

Committee:

Tyler Smotherman

MA Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
Email: tyler.smotherman@wsu.edu

Research Interests: Conflict & security studies, international relations, justice studies

Committee:

Zachary Wilkens

MA Student

Email: zachary.wilkens@wsu.edu

Research interest:

Committee:

Zachary Williams

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
Email: zachary.williams2@wsu.edu

Research interest: Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, Public Policy, and International Relations

Committee:

Breanne Winkle

PhD Student

Office: Johnson Tower 112
Email: breanne.winkle@wsu.edu

Research interest: International Security, Conflict Studies, Russian Culture, Russian Foreign Policy, Eastern European and Eurasian Politics, Emerging Powers, and Media Influence

Committee: 

Brittany Wood

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 226
Email: brittany.l.wood@wsu.edu

Research Interests: International Relations, Turkish Foreign Policy, Comparative Politics, and Political Psychology

Committee: 

yoesle-orion

Orion Yoesle

PhD Candidate

Office: Johnson Tower 227
Email: oayoesle@wsu.edu
Curriculum vitae

Research Interests: Political communication, particularly media framing and political advertising Voting behavior, political behavior (especially among partisans), electoral policy, Political Polarization and sorting

Committee: